LCDC Members

Following the introduction of interim Guidelines in May 2014, dealing with the establishment of Interim Non-Statutory Local Community Development Committees (LCDC) in the jurisdiction of each local authority area, Kilkenny County Council established an Interim LCDC. The Local Government Reform Act 2014 was enacted in June 2014 and formal Regulations and Guidelines were then introduced dealing with the formal establishment of the statutory LCDC. In addition it was agreed that Mr. Nickey Brennan would be requested to assume the role of interim Chairman of the LCDC until the full permanent membership was in place and a permanent Chairperson could then be elected by the LCDC. At the July 2014 meeting of Kilkenny County Council the Council agreed to the establishment of a statutory Kilkenny Local Community Development Committee with a total membership of 19.

At the September meeting of Kilkenny County Council a formal resolution was passed appointing the 19 members to the Kilkenny LCDC with a total of 9 members from the Public Sector and 10 members from the Private Sector.

On the 11th December 2015, Mr Fergus Keane was elected Chair of the LCDC. The following is a list of the membership:

Mr Sean McKeown Local Enterprise Office
Ms Loretto O'DriscollTeasgasc
Ms Eileen CurtisEducation Training Board
Ms Mary Barron Dept of Social Protection
Mr David Fitzgerald Elected representative
Mr Andrew McGuinessElected representative
Mr Eamon AylwardElected representative
Ms Mary Hilda CavanaghElected representative
Ms Elizabeth Dermody Community & Voluntary
Mr Martin CarrollCommunity & Voluntary
Mr Fergus Keane - ChairSocial Inclusion
Mr PJ CleereSocial Inclusion
Ms Sheila Donnelly Family Resource Centres
Mr Niall McManusKilkenny Cycling&Walking Campaign
Mr John Bambrick IFA
Mr Martin CostelloChamber of Commerce
Mr Declan RiceCKLP
Ms Colette ByrneKilkenny County Council
Ms Mary O'HanlonSocial Inclusion

The Chief Officer of the LCDC is Maria Melia.